What is K-NFT?

Jaehee Song
2 min readMar 24, 2022

You might hear about K-Dramas, K-Movies, K-Music, K-Food, K-Pop, etc. That is right. K-NFT is the NFT of the works of Korean artists.

My name is Jaehee Song and I am a proud Korean American.

Although I was born and raised in Korea, I moved to America in my late 20’s because I felt that Korea is too small for me and I wanted to experience different cultures and different people in a big world. As a young adult, I strove to blend in with American culture, even sacrificing some family ties to fully immerse myself, and quickly adopted American values like individualism, altruism, and justice. Still, I never lost the pride in my Korean heritage, and the recent upsurge of Korean content like K-pop and K-dramas encouraged me to find a way to further spread the beauty of Korean culture, hopefully in some way that utilized my decades of experience with working in IT engineering.

Inspiration struck while I was working with a blockchain-based Korean startup: what if I used NFTs to showcase calligraphy based on Hangul, the Korean writing system? That same day, I contacted Eugene Kim, an experienced UX architect, and NFT curator, and Geun-wook Lee, a content planning expert, and together, we began work on K-NFT, a virtual exhibit of authentic Korean art.

For the past three months, we have worked with nine Korean calligraphers to produce a collection of pieces based on “Sarang”, the phonetic Hangul spelling of “love” in English. K-NFT features over 66 pieces, each with its own hauntingly beautiful and thoughtfully crafted love story. Besides purchasing NFTs, K-NFT is also a portal for communicating with their artists and participating in other NFT projects.

Check out below links to learn more about the project

Web site: https://k-nft.io

Email: info@k-nft.io

Discord: https://discord.gg/uCaxSSRDVG

--

--